Wednesday, June 04, 2008

Year 7 Religion: Faith and Life

If you are using the Catholic Faith and Life series, you can go here for several free downloads to quizzes, parish instructions and other helps. If you look here, you can download a detailed scope and sequence.

I use this series as a spine. We hardly ever make it through the whole book, and I have never been able to say we covered the material in a given year thoroughly, but I like having them as a branching-off point. The art in the books is excellent and we've based picture study from there during some years.

The series follows the instructions of the Church on catechesis -- there is a whole trove of information here which I intend to pore over during the year.

The individual text this year has for its stated goals:

  • That the child treasure the sacraments as indispensable helps to a life of love and truth
  • To deepen the child's understanding of grace, how it is given and how it relates to a life of Christian virtue.
  • To deepen appreciation for the gifts of faith and reason.
Reading between the lines, we are talking about a child who is a pre-teen or sometimes a teenager already. He is maturing and his faith needs to mature too. There are too many religious folk in the world whose spiritual development was arrested in the latency stage.

Maturity in faith requires an understanding of how religion relates to habits of virtue and to reason.

Here is the list of chapter topics:

God Reveals Himself

Knowing God through Creation
Divine Revelation
God's Plan of Salvation
The Holy Prophet Moses
God's Special Spokesmen: The Prophets

God Becomes Man

Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ
The Saving Mission
The Priesthood of Jesus
Christ, Source of All Grace
Jesus Founds His Church
The Church in Our Time

God Shares His Life

Doctrine of Grace
Faith, Hope and Charity
The Cardinal Virtues
The Seven Sacraments
God Calls us to Reconciliation
The Rite of Baptism
The Sacrament of Confirmation
The Gifts of the Holy Spirit
The Sacrament of the Holy Eucharist
The Eucharistic Sacraific
The Eucharist in Our Lives
Sin and Mankind
God's Mercy and Forgiveness
The Sacrament of Penance
The Sacrament of Anointing
The Sacrament of Holy Orders
The Sacrament of Matrimony
Mary, Mediatrix of Grace

I have only 28 weeks, and 30 chapters, so there will be some overlapping to do.

In addition to this spine text, I am going to have him read some saints' lives -- Mater Amabilis has one per term and so does Kolbe.

Plus, I am going to plan some liturgical season reading. I will put Scripture and Bible History in a separate post.

Religion 7 overview here.

No comments:

Post a Comment